Public Document Pack



MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE COUNCIL OF THE LONDON BOROUGH OF HAVERING Council Chamber - Town Hall 4 September 2013 (7.30pm - 7.37pm)

Present: The Mayor (Councillor Eric Munday) in the Chair.

Councillors

Michael Armstrong, Clarence Barrett, Robert Benham, Becky Bennett, Sandra Binion, Jeffrey Brace, Denis Breading, Wendy Brice-Thompson, Andrew Curtin, Keith Darvill, Osman Dervish, Nic Dodin, David Durant, Brian Eagling, Ted Eden, Roger Evans, Gillian Ford, Peter Gardner, Linda Hawthorn, Linda Van den Hende, Lesley Kelly, Steven Kelly, Pam Light, Barbara Matthews, Paul McGeary, Robby Misir, Ray Morgon, Pat Murray, John Mylod, Denis O'Flynn, Barry Oddy, Fred Osborne, Roger Ramsey, Paul Rochford, Billy Taylor, Barry Tebbutt, Frederick Thompson, Lynden Thorpe, Linda Trew, Jeffrey Tucker, Melvin Wallace, Lawrence Webb, Keith Wells, Damian White, Michael White and John Wood.

Four Members' guests and members of the public and a representative of the press were also present.

Apologies were received for the absence of Councillors June Alexander, Michael Deon Burton, Georgina Galpin, Mark Logan, Ron Ower, Garry Pain and Geoffrey Starns.

The Mayor advised Members and the public of action to be taken in the event of emergency evacuation of the Town Hall becoming necessary.

32 MINUTES (agenda item 3)

The minutes of the meeting of the Council held on 17 July 2013 were before the Council for approval.

The minutes were **AGREED** without division and it was **RESOLVED**:

That the minutes of the meeting of the Council held on 17 July be signed as a correct record.

33 DISCLOSURE OF PECUNIARY INTERESTS (agenda item 4)

There were no disclosures of interest.

34 PROCEDURAL MOTIONS (agenda item 5)

There were no procedural motions.

35 MOTION TO VARY PREVIOUS COUNCIL DECISION (agenda item 6)

Pursuant to Council Procedure Rule 14, a motion had been received to vary a previous Council decision as follows:

Motion on behalf of the Administration

That the sizes and seat allocations of various Committees agreed at Annual Council be varied in accordance with the Chief Executive's report submitted at agenda item 7.

(Note: The motion had been signed by the required 14 Members of the Council).

The motion was **CARRIED** without division.

RESOLVED that:

The sizes and seat allocations of various Committees agreed at Annual Council be varied in accordance with the Chief Executive's report submitted at agenda item 7.

36 APPOINTING THE COMMITTEES OF THE COUNCIL (agenda item 7)

Following recent changes to the political make-up of the Council, a report of the Chief Executive sought to re-visit the total number of seats on Committees. The report also sought to address the sizes of Committees and the proposed allocation of seats in accordance with the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990.

The overall numbers and breakdown by political group of seats for each Committee are set out in **Appendix 1** to these minutes.

The report of the Chief Executive was **APPROVED** by 38 votes to 7 and it was **RESOLVED**:

That the sizes of the Committees listed in Appendix 1 to these minutes be varied as shown in that Appendix so that the total number of Committee seats is 121 and that the default allocation for political balance as set out in Appendix 1 will apply.

37 VOTING RECORD	(agenda item)
-------------------------	----------------

The record of voting divisions is attached as **Appendix 2**.

May	or



RECOMMENDED SEAT ALLOCATION

IRG **UKIP** CONSERVATIVE **RESIDENTS LABOUR** Governance Licensing **Regulatory Services Highways** Adjudication **Pensions Audit** Children's Value **Towns** Individuals Crime Health **Environment**

Seats Allocated 121

All Groups are represented on the Governance, Highways Advisory, Licensing, Regulatory Services and Adjudication & Review Committees. Committee seats are allocated, and each Committee is balanced, as "reasonably practicably" as possible.

This page is intentionally left blank

DIVISION NUMBER:	1				
The Mayor [Cllr. Eric Munday]	~				
The Deputy Mayor [Cllr. Linda Trew]	~				
CONSERVATIVE GROUP					
Cllr. Michael White	~				
Cllr. Michael Armstrong	~				
Cllr. Robert Benham	0				
Cllr. Becky Bennett	~				
Cllr. Jeff Brace	~				
Cllr. Wendy Brice-Thompson	~				
Cllr. Andrew Curtin	~				
Cllr. Osman Dervish	~				
Cllr. Roger Evans Cllr. Georgina Galpin	A				
Clir. Peter Gardner	~				
Clir. Lesley Kelly	~				
Cllr. Steven Kelly	~				
Cllr. Pam Light	~				
Cllr. Robby Misir	~				
Cllr. Barry Oddy	~				
Cllr. Gary Pain	Α				
Clir. Roger Ramsey	0				
Cllr. Cooffroy Storns	^		-		
Cllr. Geoffrey Starns Cllr. Billy Taylor	A				
Clir. Barry Tebbutt	,				
Cllr. Frederick Thompson	~				
Cllr. Lynden Thorpe	~				
Clir. Melvin Wallace	~				
Cllr. Keith Wells	~				
Cllr. Damian White	~				
RESIDENTS' GROUP					
Cllr. Clarence Barrett	· ·				
Cllr. June Alexander Cllr. Nic Dodin	A				
Cllr. Brian Eagling	~				
Cllr. Gillian Ford	~				
Cllr. Linda Hawthorn	~				
Clir. Barbara Matthews	~				
Cllr. Ray Morgon	~				
Cllr. John Mylod	~				
Clir. Ron Ower	Α				
Cllr. Linda Van den Hende	~				
Clir. John Wood	~				
LABOUR GROUP					
Cllr. Keith Darvill	×				
Cllr. Denis Breading	×				
Clir. Paul McGeary	×				
Clir. Pat Murray	×				
Cllr. Denis O'Flynn	×				
INDEDENDENT LOCAL BESIDENTS OBCUS			-		
INDEPENDENT LOCAL RESIDENTS' GROUP Clir. Jeffery Tucker	×				
Clir. Michael Deon Burton	A				
Clir. David Durant	×				
Clir. Mark Logan	Α				
UNITED KINGDOM INDEPENDENCE PARTY					
Cllr. Lawrence Webb	~				
Cllr. Sandra Binion	· ·		-		
Clir. Ted Eden	~				
Clir. Fred Osborne					
TOTALS					
✓ = YES	38				
X = NO O = ABSTAIN/NO VOTE	7 2				
ID =INTEREST DISCLOSED/NO VOTE	0				
A = ABSENT FROM MEETING	7				
	54				
	1	1	1	1	

This page is intentionally left blank